North West Province Golf Union




The Executive of the North West Golf Union has pleasure uin announcing the team to represent the NWGU at the Super Senior Inter Provincial Tournament in December 2017. Team members are:

Christo Reyneke                Joe Phiri

Joe Wood                        Basil King

Henry Swanepoel             Pierre Lotter

Manager: Kaiser Cornelius

The Executive wish them all of the best during their preparations and the tournament.



The North West Senior Open Championships was held on 20 September and 1 October 2017 at Potchefstroom Country Club.

Eighty seven players from all over the country participarted in the event over 36 holes. In weather not common to Potchefstroom for this time of the year, the players tee-ed up in windy, cold conditions. The leader after round one was Christo Reyneke from Lichtenburg who mae 71 (-1). Come Sunday, the players started at seven in the morning. The race was on and in the end, Douglas McCabe (also the captain of the Premier IPT side of the NWGU), was victorius. He shot a round of 69 (-3) following the 75 (+3) of the previous day for a total of 144 (level par). Second was another NWGU palyer, Christo Reyneke, on a total of 145.

Dougie was also the North West Winner.

(Photo: Douglas McCabe receives his prize and trophy from Coenie Schoonhoven)

 D McCabe 2

For particulars of the captains of better ball league teams, click here.

For the players and scores of the Better Ball League as on 12 September 2017, click here.