North West Province Golf Union



Next Fixtures

24 Jan 2020
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Gauteng North Amateur Open Stroke Play
24 Jan 2020
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Gauteng North Amateur Open Stroke Play
24 Jan 2020
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Gauteng North Amateur Open Stroke Play
26 Jan 2020
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Pecanwood Junior Open
26 Jan 2020
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Mooinooi Open
27 Jan 2020
08:00AM - 05:00PM
High School Trials Rd 1
01 Feb 2020
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Handicap League Rd 2
01 Feb 2020
08:00AM - 05:00PM
Central Gauteng Senior Stroke Play




The North West Golf team made history by winning the B-section of the Premier Inter-provincial Tournament held in Mpumalanga.  The team beat Boland, Eastern Province, Mpumalanga and Border, and drew with Free State on route to winning the title.

The team comprised of Beyers Smith (Captain), Oliver Goldhill, Liam van Deventer (all three from Magalies Park), Rigardt Alberts, Riaan Swart (both from Potchefstroom), Johan Kruger (Rustenburg, Nash de Klerk (Pecanwood) and Wade Jacobs (Pecanwoord, whilst Peet van Schalkwyk and Coenie Schoonhoven managed the team.

The North West High School team also made us proud ending in third place at the SA High School IPT.  This team comprised of Jaco Anderson, Leonard Bevan (both Klerksdorp High School), Rorisang Nkosi, Luc Gavagnin (both Pecanwoord College), Bernard Meyer, Divan Mostert (of Wesvalia High School), Jordan Wessels (Curro) and Stefan Kruger (Rustenburg), whilst Leon Bevan and Rigardt Matthee managed the team.  Jaco Anderson was selected for the S A High School team.

Klerksdorp High School participated in the North of the Vaal Finals, as the NW Champions with top schools, participating and brough home silver medals.  The final results were:

  1. Afrikaans Hoërskool, Pretoria;
  2. Klerksdorp High School;
  3. Marais Viljoen
  4. Transvalia
  5. Monument
  6. Piet Potgieter
  7. Middelburg High School

The North West Junior Open is booked at Mooinooi on 13 October 2019.



The Executive of the NWGU has pleasure in announcing the team to represent the Union at the Premier IPT to be played at Mbombela Golf Club in Mpumalanga in September 2019.

The team are:

Regard Albertse (Potchefstroom)                         Wade Jacobs (Klerksdorp)

Riaan Swart (Potchefstroom)                               Oliver Goldhill (Magalies Park)

Liam van Deventer (Magalies Park)                    Nash de Klerk (Pecanwood)

Beyers Smith (Magalies Park - Capt)                  Johan Krugel (Rustenburg)

Manager: Mr Peet van Schalkwyk (Mooinooi)


The Executive congratulate the players on their selection and wish them all of the best during their preparation and the tournament.

Potchefstroom Country Club wins North West Scratch League - again!
For the tenth time in eleven years, the A Team of Potchefstroom Country Club managed to win the North West Scratch League.
Nine teams from seven clubs started the league in May and the final of the four legs were completed on Sunday 23 June 2019 at Rustenburg Golf Club. In what turned out to be a final, Klerksdorp A squared up against Potchefstroom A with Rustenburg also being in the mix. After the morning foursomes, Potchefstroom A turned 4 - 0 up against both teams meaning that they only needed 2.5 point against both teams to win. In the end Potchefstroom A beat Rustenburg 9.5 vs 2.5 and Klerksdorp 7 vs 5. The team will now re-present the NWGU at the Northern Provinces Gross League finals at the end of July in Gauteng North.
The Executive congratulates Potchefstroom on their victory and thank all the clubs that participated and hosted the events during the season.
PCC Scratch winners 2019 2
VLTR Back: Riaan Swart, Gerrie Badenhorst, AJ du Plessis, Albert Britz,Conrad de Swardt
VLTR Front: Regard Albertse, Phillip Niemand, Fanie du Plessis (Man), Jean Combrinck and Jan Greyling



Die NWGU Champion of Champions was hosted at Mooinooi Golf Club on Sunday 9 June 2019. Players participated in all the divisions and additional provision were mad for the winners in the age group categories.


The A division Champion is Chabala Mbao of Leopard Park Golf Club who played a round of 75 gross. The B Division was won by Danie de Waal from Magalies Park Country Club who played a round of 95 gross.  The C Division was decided in a IPS format and the winner was Chris Binneman from Potchefstroom Country Club with a score of 35 points.


In the Ladies section, Crystal Cooper of Mooinooi won the A Division with a gross score of 85. the B Division by Cheslyn Jacobs from Potchefstroom with a score of 88 gross and the C Divisionby Carolyn van Niekerk from Orkney Golf Club with 34 IPS points.


The age groups were won by: Juniors - Stefan Kruger - Rustenburg Golf Club with a score of 81 gross, the Senior by Douglas McCabe from Rustenburg with a score of 85 gross and the Super Seniors by Patrick Allision from Mooinooi on 23 IPS points on a count out.


The Executive of the NWGU thank Mooinooi Golf Club and especially Yvonne Langer, for making their facility available to us and all the arrangements regarding the competision.